Women of the Year

In recognition of Women’s History Month, influential and inspiring women across California are honored by their state legislators each March. Assemblymember Daly is proud to present the 2019 Women of the Year Award to three exceptional women: Jenny Rios, Lisa Gonzales-Solomon, and Francine Harris.

Jenny Rios

Jenny, a lifelong resident of Santa Ana, has been the Executive Director of the Delhi Center since 2015.  Jenny is devoted to Delhi, both the Center and the community.  Jenny transformed Delhi Center into a thriving, bustling community center that provides programs and services to residents of all ages.  As the Delhi Center celebrates its 50th anniversary this year, it is appropriate to recognize Jenny as the woman who brought back the center to its full potential and who devotes so much of herself to the community.


Lisa Gonzales-Solomon

Lisa grew up in Anaheim and was raised by her grandparents – her 94-year-old grandmother still inspires her every day.  Lisa taught at Madison, Kennedy, Pico and Heninger Elementary Schools.  She’s been a principal for 9 years – at Martin, Lowell and now Madison Elementary.  In 2015, she was named Principal of the Year in Orange County and National Distinguished Principal for the State of California.  Lisa also finds time to volunteer in the Santa Ana community and serves on the Community Advisory Board for Special Education parents.


Francine Harris

Francine is a resident of Santa Ana.  She began her volunteer work at the Santa Ana Senior Center in 1984 – 35 years ago!  Since then, she has contributed thousands of hours to the center.  She is currently president of the SA Senior Club and the SA Senior Center Advisory Board.  Francine continues to develop, organize and host events at the center.  Francine is one of Santa Ana’s treasures and members of the center say that without Francine, there would be no Santa Ana Senior Center.